TJC among select group recognized for sustained excellence in educational fundraising

Aug 06, 2015 by

Tyler Junior College is one of 15 educational institutions to receive the 2015 Sustained Excellence in Educational Fundraising Award from The Council for Advancement and Support of Education, an international association of educational institutions headquartered in Washington, D.C.

CASE named 90 colleges and universities and 16 independent schools as recipients of its 2015 Educational Fundraising Awards, which recognize U.S. institutions for overall performance and improvement in educational fundraising programs.

Sustained Excellence Awards recognize institutions that have received CASE Educational Fundraising Awards in overall performance or overall improvement in three of the last five years.

Since this is TJC’s third consecutive year to be named a winner, it earns the “sustained excellence” distinction.

Institutions receiving 2015 Sustained Excellence Awards are:
Angelo State University (Texas)
Bennington College (Vermont)
Bowdoin College (Maine)
Brunswick School (Connecticut)
Claremont McKenna College                 (California)
Davidson College (North Carolina)
Harvard University (Massachusetts)
The Hockaday School (Texas)
John Brown University (Arkansas)
Northern Wyoming Community College
San Diego State University (California)
Tyler Junior College (Texas)
United States Military Academy
(New York)
University of Southern California
Villanova University (Pennsylvania)

“We are honored that Tyler Junior College was selected for this award,” said Dr. Kim Russell, TJC vice president for advancement and external affairs. Russell also serves as executive director of the TJC Foundation. “Our success is due to the TJC Foundation board of directors and, specifically, our dedicated investment committee.

“We thank TJC President Dr. Mike Metke for his outstanding leadership of the college and support of the foundation.”

Members of the TJC Foundation investment committee are: Billy Hibbs, chair; James I. Perkins; Lee Gibson; Eleanor Stringer; and David McCullough.

Award selection is based on data submitted to the Council for Aid to Education’s annual Voluntary Support of Education survey. A CASE member institution is automatically eligible to receive an overall performance or overall improvement award provided it has participated in the VSE survey for the past three years.

Judges reviewed the fundraising data of 571 eligible institutions before naming the award winners. Of the 90 colleges and universities selected, 42 won an award for overall performance in fundraising, 39 won an award for overall improvement in fundraising while 9 were recognized with both overall performance and overall improvement awards. Eight independent schools won for overall performance in fundraising while six won for overall improvement.

“I am pleased that the judges this year recognized 22 first-time award winners and 15 institutions for sustained excellence in fundraising,” says Brian Flahaven, director of legislative, foundation and recognition programs. “Fundraising at educational institutions continues to grow on campuses across the country as more institutions realize the high-value and impact of well-maintained fundraising programs. These awards acknowledge the exceptional work of those institutions.”

For more on CASE, go to



News, Summer 2015

About the author

The author didnt add any Information to his profile yet