Three TJC professors named endowed teaching chairs

Jul 17, 2013 by
Linda Bellington

Linda Bellington

Three Tyler Junior College professors have distinguished themselves as endowed teaching chairs for 2013.

The TJC Endowed Chair for Teaching Excellence program enables professors to nominate and reward their peers who demonstrate excellence as educators.

This year’s endowed chair recipients are:

• Linda Bellington, mathematics, The Mable Williams Endowed Chair for Teaching Excellence
• Gloria Brooks, English, The Dorothy Fay and Jack White Endowed Chair for Teaching Excellence
• Heather Mensch, jazz studies and applied low brass, The George W. Pirtle and El Freda Taylor Pirtle Endowed Chair for Teaching Excellence

Winners were surprised during their respective classes with a fanfare of applause and balloons, followed by presentations of certificates and checks from TJC President Dr. Mike Metke and Provost Dr. Butch Hayes.

Gloria Brooks

Gloria Brooks

Endowed teaching chair recipients receive $2,000 each for two years ($4,000 total), which includes a $1,500 cash stipend and $500 for professional development for each year. The professional development portion may be applied toward a personal professional development plan, including travel, books, conferences and equipment.

Twenty-two, full-time TJC professors were nominated by their peers to apply for the award. Of the 22 nominees, 10 professors chose to undergo the intense application process.

Those 10 nominees were: Bellington; Dr. Gordon Betts, biology; Brooks; Gigi Delk, computer information systems/game and simulation development; Jeanne Ivy, psychology; Brenda Korich, surgical technology; Jan McCauley, history/government; Mensch; Terri Mittica, associate degree nursing; and Melanie Ward, reading/developmental education.

Each received a certificate of recognition and a nomination from TJC to receive recognition at the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD) annual conference in May

Heather Mensch

Heather Mensch

in Austin.

Since the program’s inception in 1990, there have been 64 professors designated as distinguished TJC endowed chairs.



News, On Campus

About the author

Elise Mullinix is Tyler Junior College's Editorial Manager. She can be reached at 903-510-2370 or at